Smile

So apparently, this is a new pet peeve of mine and not just a “I’m wearing a lovely shade of I slept like shite so please don’t speak to me” thing, like it was yesterday. I really, really object to being told to smile. Like, from the (occasionally mercurial) core of my being. I smile a lot, honestly. Now, it’s rarely a genuine smile… but I have perfected the fake, social smile. I work in healthcare. I’ve HAD to perfect the fake smile and what Lieutenant Commander Cornell refers to as my “nurse voice.”

That being said, my genuine smiles are rare and they are earned and if you don’t like the fact that my natural facial expression is neutral and not some vapid grin, well, eat my shorts. I’m a serious person, and I will be the first to tell you that I’ve got a bad case of RBF (resting bitch face).\

 

In other news, I bought new running shoes (which were both cute and on sale so #winning) and went to the gym last night. My energy level at work today has been exponentially higher, and I’m super stoked about it. One of my favorite coworkers has decided that we should be workout buddies, so it looks like I finally have someone to help me keep my motivation up!

I’m looking forward to getting fit again. I’ve also resumed counting calories, which should really help me in steering away from unhealthy foods and truly focusing on getting fit. I’m going to make a commissary run on my lunch break today and get some salad stuff, since I have lots of yummy tuna and salad toppings in my barracks room pantry. I think I’m going to dip a toe into the pool of meal planning. We’ll see how that goes…

I’m gonna get back in shape, dammit, and I’m gonna stay that way. Feel free to send good vibes, gym memes, and healthy recipes my way if you’ve got them and are inclined to share!

 

Until next time, stay frosty, nerds.

Leave a Reply

