AUGH (also fitness stuff)

Bro, I suck so hard at this!! I didn’t blog AGAIN yesterday!

But, in my defense, I literally spent every minute of my free time at work yesterday meal planning, looking up fitness stuff on Pinterest, and sassing my new third class, who is the sassiest gay black man who is actually a straight Samoan man I have ever met in my entire life. So, needless to say, I like him and I find his partnership quite amiable. Sadly, after today, he will not be training with me anymore. I shall have to acquire a new minion!

Also meal planning is haaaaard. I don’t wanna. But I do, because skinny, but I don’t, because SO MUCH WORK, JESUS. It’s ridiculous. I’m trying to write up meal plan schedules and build grocery lists and keep tabs on workouts that I really want to do and just UGH. I’m preparing to bump up my cardio and it is gonna suck and everything hurts and I’m dying BUT… I’m doing it for the “holy shit, you got skinny,” the feeling of buying size 8 jeans, the bikinis, the cute pictures, the lack of self consciousness… I’m doing it for me. And I realized a long time ago that it’s not about the number on the scale. It’s about how I feel and how I look and how my clothes fit me. Because let’s be real here: muscle weighs significantly more than fat. So I’ll drop inches and tone, but I will wind up gaining weight. And I’m perfectly all right with that.

This week, now that I’ve been in the gym on the regular again, I’m being reminded of gym girl problems. Like, oh, I don’t know, how I’m ALWAYS STARVING. Or how every day is laundry day. Or how most of my wardrobe now is somehow workout gear. Or how my Pinterest is suddenly full of fitness tips and motivational posters and meal plan ideas. Or how men constantly either underestimate me or objectify me in the gym. Or, if I’m really lucky, both. Oh, and we can’t forget how when I swim (which is frequent), I smell like straight bleach. Which, while that doesn’t bother me in the slightest, other people seem to not be huge fans. I’ve always called the smell of chlorine “swimmer’s cologne.”

For the next thirty days, I’ll be in the gym every day and, starting next week, I’ll be doing two-a-days. I’m about to be shredded, man. I’m so ready to be fit again…

 

Welp, that’s all she wrote, y’all.

Until next time, stay frosty, nerds.

Leave a Reply

