Leave and Liberty

Being a corpsman (or as I’m now designated, a G000 (Thanks, Obama)(jk, it’s not his fault)) is weird, and here is why: we have the broadest but most restricted scope of practice of any job in the medical field. We are trained to draw blood, give shots, perform minor procedures, drive ambulances and work as EMTs in the ED, take charge in code situations, work on wards such as L&D (labor and delivery), APU (ambulatory procedure unit), and other multi-service wards, perform tactical life-saving care while under fire, assist with surgery as well as physical, occupational, and respiratory therapy, do work in the preventive medicine field, do physical exams for divers, pilots, and air crew, and engage in day to day patient care, and yet, when we transition out of the military to the civilian sector, we’re not even considered qualified to do basic med tech work in a hospital. That’s insane.

Also, as a disclaimer before any weirdness ensues, I am post-duty and exhausted today, and I’ve had my first (half) cup of coffee in about eleven days today.

In other news, I leave work an hour and some early today, finish some last minute packing, and then it’s off to the airport and eventually home, for 18 days. My GOD 18 days of no military anything is going to be glorious. Plus getting to see family, meet a niece for the first time, and see my fiancé again for the first time in about 6 months and possibly for the last time in at least a year, because dual military sucks.

It’s about to be Thanksgiving and I know I have plenty of things to be thankful for, but I’ve also been dealing with a truckload of shit lately, so I’m struggling a little harder than usual to come up with my thankful list this year. But I’m going to go home and work on my novel and love my family and hold hands with my fiancé and everything is going to be fine and dammit I keep forgetting this is a computer and not my smart phone so autocorrect doesn’t actually exist my GOD I suck at typing…

On an unrelated topic, my hair is growing quite long and I don’t know how I feel about it. It’s currently in that awkward stage where it’s too short to do anything with but too long to not be annoying and I really want to shave my head again and go back to my tapered skin fade/Imperator Furiosa buzzcut days but I CAN’T (apparently) and I hate it. Well, I hate/love it. But it’s going to get really bad when it gets too long for me to get away with not styling it because I swear to God, putting this damn mop in a bun every day is going to make me sad and kill me slowly. On the inside.

Anyway. My lunch break is about over and I suppose I should pretend to do some work so, until next time, stay frosty, nerds!

Leave a Reply

