Migraines (And Other Small Joys in Life)

So, apparently, I’m a person who has migraines now. Isn’t that just fabulous? It would appear that my triggers are barometric pressure drops (such as precede storms), hormonal fluctuations (because PMS isn’t bad enough on its own), and stress. Seeing as how it is now December and Spain likes to storm constantly in the winter instead of actually snowing, my hormones are out of control, and stress is my life… well, my migraines are becoming slightly more frequent. So I’ve got that going for me, which is nice.

I had a doozy of one yesterday and the nausea has carried over into today, which is just wonderful.

But, before I go off on another rant and get all whiny, let me take a pause. A pause in which to talk about the glorious occurrence that was my leave. Oh. MY. God. I missed the United States so much! I ate way too much Taco Bell, went to Dunkin Donuts at least three times, enjoyed making small talk with random strangers because I could (because no language barrier), and got to spend time with basically all of the people who are most important to me.

And John. My God, it was so, so good to see him again. My dad teased me for constantly needing to be in some sort of physical contact with him, but I posit that people who have never had a long distance relationship just don’t know what it’s like. To go six months without seeing the person you love except for the occasional weekend Skype session is pure torture. We frequently discuss and agree on how much bullshit it is that we have been together for ten months and spent less than three weeks total time physically together in that span. It took us ten months to be able to go on our first actual date. But the thing is, when it comes right down to it, I think it’s almost a good thing. Yes, being apart is terrible, but at the same time, we’ve proved to everyone (including ourselves) that we can do it – that we can make the monster that is long distance work for us. Because we’re still together and we’re still in love and he asked me to marry him in person while we were home and I’m still slightly squee-ing over the whole thing.

My nieces were adorable and perfect, my sister and her husband were awesome, and my parents were just as goofy and amazing as I remember. Basically, I’d qualify the entire trip as a success, even if the traveling was a freakin’ nightmare. (Sidenote: Spanish airports are confusing as fuck.)

 

The next few weeks are liable to be a little rough for me. We’ve got a dress blue inspection tomorrow (which I should pass, though probably not well due to having gained some weight recently), I’m about to resume college classes and also start studying for advancement, and I’m just in general really stressed out these days. I *have* been getting back to the gym, though, so I’m hoping that will put a dent in my insane stress. If it doesn’t, I’m going to have to figure out some other way to manage it, because it can literally kill you, something I’m all too aware of as a corpsman.

It’s so hard to take time to take care of myself when I’m so busy taking care of everyone else, but I’m going to have to learn how to make time for myself so that I don’t burn out. This is one of those skills that I wish I just innately knew, but as I clearly don’t, it would appear that I need to learn. I mean, I’m a relatively intelligent carbon based lifeform. I know that self care is incredibly important, as someone who has mental health issues and is a healthcare professional. But finding the time… I just don’t know how I’m going to do it.

Well, I guess that’s all she wrote, folks. Until next time, stay frosty, nerds.

Leave a Reply

