Shenanigans

I would like to call shenanigans all over this. This weekend doesn’t feel like it should be over yet. I feel like I only got about half a day off, because I had to adult a lot this weekend. There was laundry to be done and dishes to be washed and sweeping to be done and just, fuck, man. I need a day off – like a REAL day off. I think this Saturday I need to just go out in town and walk around and catch Pokémon, get coffee at one of the little cafes, and take some hardcore me time. I haven’t had actual legit me time in quite a while.

Self-care. It’s something that I struggle with, and the reason why will sound counterintuitive, but it’s true. I struggle to make time for self-care because I’m a medical professional. Sounds weird, right? But here’s the thing: it’s hard to make time to take care of yourself when you’re busy taking care of everyone else. Ask anyone you know who works in the medical field, and I pretty much guarantee you they’ll say they take care of themselves last. They’re the last ones to book an appointment, even if they really need it. It just comes with the job. Call it an occupational hazard, I suppose.

That being said… I have got to start making time for myself. That will partly be achieved today, as I’ve already decided that I am going to the gym after work. I should have gone this morning and I didn’t because I’m a lazy bum, but when I put my NWUs on and they fit as tight as they do… there’s nothing for it. I have to get my ass in gear and start working on losing weight.

The worst part about my weight struggle, though, is that it makes me want to start smoking again and I CAN NOT do that. I mean, I work for a pulmonologist, for fuck’s sake. Doc would have a fit if I started coming in smelling like smoke again. Not only that, but with my familial history of cancer… I just shouldn’t. Smoking is bad. Mm’kay.

It’s going to be a long week, man.

Until tomorrow, stay frosty, nerds.

Leave a Reply

