That Green Gentleman

This might seem like an odd choice of blog post title, but I promise it makes sense. And here’s how:

“Things have changed for me, and that’s okay. I feel the same. I’m on my way and I say, ‘Things have changed for me…'” etc., etc.

Panic! at the Disco hit the proverbial nail on the figurative head on that one. As of today, I’ve been forcibly transferred with zero say in the matter. Everyone keeps trying to tell me that it’s not a punishment, that only really good corpsmen get transferred, to look on the bright side, etc., but it’s so hard for me to when I don’t handle change well and when I had literally JUST started to build a really good rapport with my doctor.

So now, I’ve been transferred from Medical Home Port to Optometry. It’s going to be a steep learning curve, not to mention I only have about two months to get fully up to speed on three different collaterals that I’m picking up for the other corpsman who is getting ready to leave, I have to learn how to use a bunch of new machinery and learn a whole new way of interacting with patients, my superiors are going to make me board (most likely for Bluejacket), and I’m going to be the senior corpsman in the clinic, which means a lot will be expected of me.

It’s all a little overwhelming, though it seems like my clinic will be really supportive and the staff appears to be pretty cool.

So, bright siding this to the best of my abilities: it will be easier to build my eval with more command involvement, it’s cross-training with a lot of OJT, and I’ll have a good bit of downtime to work on studying for advancement and general college stuff. I guess we’ll see how this goes!

 

Until next time, stay frosty, nerds!

Leave a Reply

